Successful 2013 Annual Meeting

"Writing About a River: Stories from Challenging Times"

Environmental reporter Beth Daley

Environmental reporter Beth Daley

On June 13, 2013, the Neponset River Watershed Association held its Annual Meeting at the Meditech Corporate Headquarters in Canton. Despite a rainy evening, the mood was festive, as approximately 85 people attended a reception and cocktail hour in the beautiful atrium, followed by an interesting and enjoyable talk by Beth Daley, Environmental Reporter for the Boston Globe. Music for the reception was provided by the very talented Milton High School jazz band.

Outgoing Board President Christine Grady presided over the meeting before turning over the reins to new President Brendan McLaughlin.

Awards were given to Martha McDonough of Hyde Park, who has spear-headed the multi-site Neponset River cleanup in Hyde Park for the past two years, and Stephanie Radner of Dedham, who served as a Beetle Rancher and Monitor for our Purple loosestrife biocontrol program, as well as a CWMN volunteer. Boston Scientific also was acknowledged for its work on the Quincy RiverWalk.

Outgoing President Christine Grady was acknowledged for her 10 years of enthusiastic service to NepRWA.

The Board and staff honored Executive Director Ian Cooke for his 20 years of exceptional leadership, with an engraved cherry-wood paddle.

The new slate of Board Officers includes: President Brendan McLaughlin, Vice-President Maura O’Gara, Treasurer William Wiseman, and Secretary Jerry Hopcroft.

The following Board Members were re-elected for terms ending in 2015: David Brookfield, Sharon; Joanna Hamblin, Dedham; Ardis Johnston, Stoughton; Richard O’Mara, Dorchester; David Biggers, Canton; Brendan McLaughlin, Milton; Andrea Maffeo Stuart, Canton; Les Tyrala, Quincy; and William Wiseman, Walpole.

The following Board Members were re-elected for terms ending in 2014: Maura O’Gara, Quincy; Christine Grady, Walpole; Taber Keally, Milton; Paul Lauenstein, Sharon; Rory McGregor, Sharon; Jerry Hopcroft, Norwood; Peter Kane, Westwood.

New Board Members Elisa Birdseye of Hyde Park and Theresa Dolan of Dorchester were voted in for terms ending in 2014.

View event photos, thanks to photographer Alex Budnitz.



We are grateful for the generous support of our Annual Meeting sponsors: Estuary Sponsor Boston Scientific, Main Stem Sponsor Poirier Sales & Service, Tributary Sponsors Cedar Grove Gardens of Dorchester and PrintMaster of Norwood, Headwaters Sponsor Melissa Gilroy, CPA, and Friends Rojo Co. of Norwood and AAA of Southern New England.

Boston Scientific logo Poirier logo
PrintMaster logo Cedar Grove logo


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *